1st December - Open Spaniel (except cocker) field trial

Open A/V Spaniel (except Cocker) Trial at Checkley by kind permission of Ivor Beavis.

One of the worst things that can happen to a FT Secretary is to get to the Trial ground only to discover that the A Panel Judge has had problems and can’t get to the ground in time to start the Trial. Unfortunately, that is what happened today. Due to unforeseen circumstances, Jack Iliffe was unable to be with us (don’t worry, he’s ok) but the day was saved by Carl Colclough who gave up his run to officiate for us. We are extremely grateful to Carl for doing this as you can imagine and so, along with Alastair Ross who had also been appointed as a late replacement, Steward of the Beat, Ivor Beavis got the Trial underway on what eventually turned out to be a very wet and windy day but still very enjoyable.

Most Triallers, Spaniels and Retrievers, have probably been to Checkley at some point and will know that you are pretty much guaranteed a good day’s sport. There is always plenty of Game in the right place at the right time and our Guns, who we are very grateful to, rose to the challenge and helped ensure we had a good Trial.

Our Guns were Pete Bancroft, Steve Mear, Dave Cooke and Brian Wilshaw.

Thanks to our Game carriers, Steve Wilshaw and Paul Kempson and Stewards, Guy Radford and the owner of the dog Carl should have been running, Yvonne Mackender.

Results. (following a 7 Dog Run-Off!!)

First winning the The Westray Trophy donated by Mr J.Duke, The Jeff Maidment Memorial Trophy donated by David Ross and The Moss Trophy donated by Rachael Briggs for The Best Hunting Spaniel was Gary Veasey handling Borransfell Bond making his dog up to Field Trial Champion.

Gary was also awarded The Wanfield Trophy donated by our President, The Earl of Shrewsbury & Talbot DL for The Gun’s Choice.

Second winning the B.A.S.C. Central England Region Trophy donated by Matt Dutton was Simon Blackman with Clentohill Floyd.

Third was Simon Dixon with Dawsonlee Omega.

Fourth was Geoff Devine Jones handling Syncerus Serafin.

Cetificates of Merit were awarded to Steve McGuire with Mulraven Mismark, Simon Dixon handling Dawsonlee Legolas, Anna Holland with Chameret Dancer and Andrew Stevens with Stockingford Sputnik.

All the winning handlers received prizes from our generous sponsors who were - Skinners, Sporting Saint, Baileys Shooting & Country Wear, Tuffies Dog Beds, BASC, Twicebrewed Twines, Peramax Canine and ACME Whistles.